Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjetcs that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The argument towards subject choices of university students is to fulfil the market demand. Science and technology are highly sought after, especially in this technological era. While it is true to opt for out of these. On the one hand, allowing students to study what they like can lead to higher motivation and better academic performance since they are more engaged in subjects they find interesting. By taking their personal choice, they could focus on their passion, get into professional role. For example, art students could be a professional if they explore the new skills, techniques. This will also give a balance in the job and society. Moreover, allowing students to choose a variety of subjects provides them with versatile skills that can adapt to changing job market and career paths. In other words, they have flexibility in career. Unexpected situation such as pandemic and war often happens at any time, leading to companies have to lay off, in this state, individuals with different skills will benefit more to find jobs. On the other hand, in this technology-focused era, students need to prepare expertise to meet the market demand. Technology has changed and taken a part of work, business and daily activities, so focusing education on science and technology subjects can meet market demand for professionals in these fields. Artificial intelligence and startup are getting more popular and requires a number of employees who are expert in these fields. If students could not keep up with this trend, they would be left behind and difficult to compete with others. In conclusion, I believe that choosing subjects based on personal interest benefit the students more in unexpected life now and then.