Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a controversial debate over old buildings in modern cities. While some people believe that they should be substituted, I side with the ones who prefer to preserve them. This essay will shed light on both perspectives and explain why conservation is a better option. Often, shining skyscrapers appear not only more aligned with the contemporary taste, but they seem more efficient in terms of energy consumes. However, hi-tech materials are not always so performative as we might expect. The downsides of any contemporary innovation reside in the difficulties to repair and, at the same time, the need of skilled workers for its maintainance. One example is the Bosco Verticale in Milan, the complexity behind the installation of the vegetation system requires always experts on site. Traditional buildings, quite often are left in disrepair therefore their external appearance is not really attractive. However, these constructions show traditional techniques and the use of old materials. Although this can be perceived as a negative aspect, thicker walls made with bricks, wooden structures are not only more efficient in terms of energy consume but also easier to repair. Here, conservation is possible and doable by non-graduated people. Moreover, replacing old buildings with new buildings means demolishing constructions and disposing huge amount of waste that is very difficult to recycle. In conclusion, despite new modern buildings are often framed as nicer and ecologically efficient, the reality is that they are not easily reparable as the traditional ones, and their effciency relies more on complex technologies than on simple construction techniques.