There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that non-academic subjects in schools should be removed from the school syllabus because of the pressure on young people. I completely disagree with this statement, children can focus on academic work while learning helpful skills, because of their young brains. Firstly, I think that non-academic lessons that kids and teenagers took like cookery and physical education are very beneficial for them. Because most of the kids do not learn any of this skills in their lives because of their parents. School is a great way to teach young people this kind of things. I am an example for this, I took physical education classes in high school because I had to, but now I now how to play most of the team games, and I am glad that I took that classes even though I did not want to. Secondly, young people has faster brains than older people, they can concentrate on academic work while learning these helpful skills. They have a lot of time to learn new things, it would not be optimal for them to just focus on academic work in their early life. For instance, my younger sister is a very good student who cares about her works, but she is also taking cookery class every week. She is not taking that class for us but herself. In conclusion, I think non-academic subjects are must, removing them from school syllabus is unreasonable. Children should learn variety of things, the pressure on academic stuff is not enough for them to stop learning other skills.