Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Fresh yields is increasingly being transported by air to other countries that cannot grow them on their own or are out of season. The advantages are that people can consume these all year and some countries only rely on imported food for their livelihood. However, the disadvantages are that they cause pollution and encourage harmful ways of cultivation. One benefit of importing fruits and vegetables is that a wide range of products is available year-round. Some countries are only able to produce a certain crop in a specific season, without the imports, they will not be able to consume their food throughout the year. Moreover, imported produce helps countries with a harsher climate to sustain life. This is because their harsh climate prevents food from being grown. For instance, Qatar is mostly desert and relies heavily on other states for food imports. On the other hand, frequent air transportation has detrimental effect on the environment as they require more fossil fuels to be burned. As a result, more harmful gases are released in atmosphere that further leads to an uptick in pollution. Additionally, as the demand increases from the outside, pressure on farmers to speed up farming also builds up. Hence, in order to meet the demand, chemical fertilizers are used to accelerate the production. These have negative effects on an individual's health if consumed over-time in the long run. For example, to meet the demands of rice by the western countries, Indian farmers are using harmful chemical pesticides and products to ensure that the crops grow faster than usual. In conclusion, while the benefits of exporting produce is that it allows people to eat a wide variety of fresh fruits and vegetables througout the year and important for some countries to survive, the downside is that it comes with a cost to environment and changes good farming methods.