IT IS COMMONLY BELIEVE THAT NOWADAYS MAIN FACTOR THAT AFFECT A CHILD’S DEVELOPMENT ARE MEDIA,POP CULTURE AND FRIENDS.A DIFFERENT POINT OF VIEW IS THAT FAMILY PLAYS THE MOST SIGNIFICANT ROLE.DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION

In modern days, some people believe that media, pop culture and friends are often regarded as major factors influencing children's development, while others would believe that the family plays a more significant role. This paper aims to discuss which side of the contrasting views plays a bigger role in a child's development, as well as giving some personal opinions. Most children would spend the majority of their personal time at home, where they will inevitably interact with their family members including parents and siblings. According to a team of researchers at the University of London interviewing 300 adults regarding their youth, more than two-thirds of the respondents reported that their personalities were predominantly shaped by their family members as they taught and spent time with them, this demonstrates the vital influence that a child's family may have on their future development. While the importance of families has been demonstrated above, a survey conducted by the Seoul National University shows a different picture. With over 10000 year 7 students reporting that they spent 10 hours outside their homes to attend school, tutoring and extra-curricular activities, it is clear that children nowadays are spending more time with their peers than their family members. As friends often share values, interests and are driven by pop-culture, I am convinced that such factors are inevitably influencing children's development. Furthermore, as digital technology has become more advanced, more and more children relied on their gadgets and smartphones, with authorities from countries like China and the United Kingdom are considering limiting the time a child can use their mobile device. I believe that a reason for such restriction to be imposed was the overwhelming amount of information being exposed to a child who are addicted to digital devices, and often this information is believed to be harmful to children's development and is difficult to be censored. Despite the trend above, adults play a critical part in controlling what factors can influence children's development. While parents could spend more time and care in their children's life, on the other hand, teachers should monitor children's interaction with their friends and provide support to nourish children's positive development. All in all, the prevalence of digital technology as well as the increase in time spent beyond their home, media, pop culture and friends are aspects influential in children's development, while some of these influences can be negative. With more care and monitoring, I suggest parents and teachers must put an effort to sustain positive development in children they are responsible for, so that they can shine in the future.