Sugar consumption is too harmful. Some say it is government’s responsibility to limit sugar intake, while others say it’s individual who are responsible. Discuss both views and give you opinion?

The consumption of sugary foods and beverages has drastically increased in the last few decades. Sugar intake, at least at certain level, is proven to be harmful to our health. For this reason, some people believe that governments should ramp up their efforts to limit sugar intake on people’s diet, while others believe that it is a personal choice of each individual. I strongly agree with this second position because each citizen should be free to make their choices. On the one hand, those who agree with the idea of considering this issue a government’s responsibility probably refer to the fact that, in welfare states, the way in which each of us lives his own life interferes with others. As an example of that, if sugar consumption is harshly harmful, then probably these people will need more medical care then others and this have an impact on if hospitals are able to give to that many people the cure they need. Furthermore, it is a paternalistic way of seeing the form of action of the governments, where if citizens are not able to choose what is best for them, governments should assume the responsibility to show them the right way. Despite it might sound a logical way of thinking, I disagree with these ideas because I believe that freedom in people’s life choices is a supreme right. Indeed, on the other hand, those who consider individuals responsible for their life choices agree that, after making common knowledge that a certain intake of sugar is harmful, and it is science’s role, each of us should be free to behave in the opposite way. Instead of tackling this problem by limiting sugar intake as an obey, different strategies can be used, such as promoting adverts that really show the effects of sugar in people’s diets and make everyone more aware of that. To conclude, the health reason need for sure to be considered to face this problem but, in my opinion, the right to choose is on an higher level and for this reason, it needs to be protected more than the other, in particular, because other solutions can be found to fight this issue.