The top priority of businesses is making money, and they do not need to have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that social burden should not be applied to commerces because their main purpose is gaining profit. I personally disagree with this statement in particular for big companies, however I will elaborate more on this essay. Firstly, businesses need to operate their production by hiring local labors. As they produce huge amount of money from the locals' area, they need to hire local people to participate as workers in the company. Owing to this, the companies will contribute to increase the locals' economic level. For example, in Indonesia, the government applied a policy that companies should hire at least 30% of local people, otherwise they could not afford an official permission to operate their production in certain areas. As a result, the commerces are not only profit-oriented, but they also help locals to improve their life quality. Secondly, businesses usually utilize local resources in order to generate their practices. As some companies need natural resources, such as land and trees, to make their products, it will affect to sustainability qualities in the long-term. Therefore, they should aware of the environmental damages that might be happen in the future. For instance, a big company called More had a waste processor in order to reduce the garbage from its production. By preparing this technology, this company is not only making money, but it also helps keeping the environment clean. In conclusion, commerces are not solely aim to make profit in their practices, but they should have social responsibilities in terms of local labors hiring and providing modern technology to prevent natural damages.