Some people think that schools should give prizes for academic successes. Others argue that it is more important for schools to give prizes for other achievements (for example, for sports, music and behaviour). Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a heat topic about whether the schools should give prizes for academic achievements or for other successes. From my point of view, both academic prizes and non-academic prizes are encouraged to be provided by schools. Prizes for academic successes are essential. First of all, one of the most important tasks for students at school is learning. They are expected to master knowledge and gain academic achievements. Therefore, prizes for academic success can motivate students to learn harder. Besides, academic prizes can help the students who are eager to study but have no chances. Some students are so poor that they can not even afford the fee of books. Academic prizes may help them gain more opportunies through hard work. And it may also help to enhance the equality of education, as not only rich students can get resources of good education, but also poor students. However, prizes for non-academic successes are also vital. To begin with, these kind of prizes can stimulate students to develop different interests. For example, the prizes for sports can encourage students to do more exercises and have healthy bodies. Further more, prizes for non-academic achievements can help students to establish the value that learning is not the all for students, and students also have the rights to do the things they like, but not to be learning machines. This kind of positive value is beneficial for not only the growth of students, but also the development of the society. All in all, prizes can be given for every positive aspect. It can help students to become the people who have healthy mentality towards everything, which encourages them to be better people.