In the modern world, many employees lack soft skill such as communication and working in the teams. What are the main causes of this problem? What are the effects of the lack of such skills ?

In this modern workplace, workers do not have adequate social skills, such as teamwork and communication. This challenge stems from the rapid in technological advancement that encourages independent work and this factor results in miscommunication and a decline teamwork effectiveness. This essay will elaborate more on the causes of this challenge and potential consequences if these soft skills are not addressed. To begin with, young generations tend to be more familiar with online communication rather than the traditional way of communication. As many digital tools appear, younger people prefer to have their conversations online and reduce face-to-face interaction. For example, after the Covid-19 outbreak last 2020, many companies in Jakarta apply a work-from-everywhere (WFE) system for their employees which then meeting through Zoom has been prevalent since then. They claim that this new system is easier and more efficient. Therefore, the workers rarely have in-person contact with other colleagues and it leads to anti-social behavior. Owing to the phenomenon, miscommunication often happens because the message is not interpreted right. As the communication is not clearly conveyed, it is profound to lost in translations. Furthermore, poor communication leads to inadequate skill of teamwork. As the workers cannot deliver their intention well, they are not able to do tasks in a team as well. For instance, studies showed that Z-generation workers in the WFE system find the direct presentation to the management difficult. As a result, collaboration with other colleagues is another hurdle for them which leads to poor quality of work together. In conclusion, the lack of soft skills is driven by overemphasis on technology usage nowadays, especially for younger generations, and it has significant effects in terms of miscommunication and teamwork effectiveness if there is no further action taken by the companies.