Nowadays there are ongoing debates about reducing the speed limit of a vehicle as the most effective way of minimizing road traffic accidents while others opined there are other alternative measures to curb this problem

Nowadays there are ongoing debates about reducing the speed limit of a vehicle as the most effective way of minimizing road traffic accidents while others opined there are other alternative measures to curb this problem. This essay will delve further into this issue. First and foremost, speeding is one of the major causes of car crashes. To explain this, the momentum of car accidents is driven by a few factors and speed is one of them. A high-velocity moving vehicle will cause more damage and injuries to the victim as compared to a slower vehicle. Hence, if the speed limit is reduced, the negative effects of car accidents can be minimized. Moving on to the next point, apart from the measure mentioned above, other alternative steps to improve road safety are educating the drivers. It is a well-known fact that knowledge can improve the behaviour and attitude of a person. Consequently, society will be more law-abiding and aware of road safety. Lastly stricter law enforcement will also help to improve drivers’ compliance with the rules. With regular patrolling and speeding tickets, society will be more cautious and responsible. By and large, while reducing speed limits is one of the effective ways to enhance road safety, other measures such as road traffic education and stricter law enforcement are indispensable measures as well. In my opinion combinations of two or more ways will be better.