In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Marketing is widely used by bussinesses to attract potential costumers. Although there are numerous methods of advertising, highlighting new features of products are the most popular one. Adopting this method has its roots on limited capacities of advertisements. In my opinion, it is logicaly a positive trend because it is still used wordwidely word widely. When it comes to introduce a new product, the marketing industry put an emphasis on unique features. It is often used because highlighting a new specification is more convinient than presenting all the capabilities. The reason of marketing dictate that highlighting distinguishes are more interesting than providing a catalogue of the product. For example, all the smart phones have many common fatures, a touch screen or a camera, but one of which has integrated AI making it separated from other ones. In addition, the advertisment advertising methods are limited. In other words, the product should be presented in seconds in the middle of a TV program, or a page in a magazine should be enough to represent it. This limitation enforce them to highlight new features. All of the above-mentioned reasons lead the marketing industy to what it is after decades, which is a beneficial approach. This method encourage producers to show more creativity to gain a share of the market. This creativity is the main root of inventing cutting-edge technologies. Without this race all the products of a given category would have been the same. For example, it was Apple company that presented the first touch screen mobile phone without any physical keyboard. This new feature has revolutionized the future of smart phones. Moreover, it is truely advantageous for consumers since they can buy an specialized item. If same items of a certain category, like laptops, come to the market with different features, consumers can purchase the most suitable one based on their need. Imagine what it would be look like if all the laptops were the same, without any significant differences. In conclusion, if we accept that the reason of marketing is to attract as more buyers as possible, then inventing new feature for our products is essential to make differences. I believe that this approach is totally beneficial for both producers and consumers, as it can bring more specialized items for people as well as more creativity, and this is the main reason to answer the question: why the marketing industry has following this techniques after decades.