Tourism today creates a variety of problems, such as pollution due to flights, traffic congestion and water pollution. Do you think that governments should impose extra taxes on flights or accommodation to restrict today's tourism industry?

It has become a serious trend that expanding tourism contributes to various problems including pollution and traffic congestion. Some people demand higher taxes should be imposed on accommodation and flights by the government. I partially support this view, for the growing threat to the environment regardless of taxes restricting economic activities. On the one hand, higher taxes should be imposed on accommodation and flights since an increase in harmful gas emitted from flights destroys the environment at an accelerating speed. In other words, expanding tourism has made the Earth a more hostile place to live as people are more threatened by the sudden rise in the global temperature. For instance, the amount of CO2 has increased by 10% since 2020 with the growing number of foreign tours around the world. Thus, the harsher restriction on hotels and flights is necessary to prevent the further damage to nature. On the other hand, the introduction of taxes has a negative consequence from an economic perspective since it discourages people from travelling abroad. Indeed, more people are reluctant to visit other nations by flights, leading to the shrink of business. To illustrate this, the GDP declined by nearly 15% in Japan in 2004 with fewer foreign travellers who dropped money on hotels and souvenier shops. Consequently, the problems of poverty and higher unemployment have become more severe, making another increase in taxes unnecessary. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that extra taxes should be introduced to prevent the further environmental damage caused by the growing number of international tourists using flights. However, they can also limit national business, leading to the stagnant economy as well as growing poverty.