Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governmnents must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The government fundings which are given to arts, like theatre and music, is considered a bad financial decision. Instead, it is a much better decision to allocate the money to fund public services. I partly agree on this statement and I will explain below. Public services, mainly infrastructure, benefit majority of people in many countries. The money which the goverment allocates to build tunnels, fly-overs and highway satifies a big number of people in the country. Moreover, public transportations also help people to commute without the need of having their own vehicle. Singapore is the prime example of a country that has great allocation for money to provide public services. The country has options of convinient public transportation, such as bus and MRT, and they build roof for the pedestrian to walk without having to worry about weather. As a result, goverment investment aiming to general public brings more advantages than just focusing on one area of interest. Governments can also invest to arts if they wish, but they need to benefit the general public as well. They can build an art centre for everyone, which can be use to develop people skills and to exhibit their talent. Providing a place for development for those who are interested in arts, and also offering new form of entertainment for general public is the best way to fund a specific area of interest. For example, an annual event that is held in Medan named 'PRSU' is known to introduce new talents from the city where they perform interesting musical performances which is free for everyone to come and see. Therefore, it is not only artists who get the advantages, but everyone can also enjoy the arts. In conclusion, while it is true that goverment needs to prioritize public services rather than arts, I believe that if they combine the two ideas and create an art centre to benefit everyone and not only a limited number of people, it would bring advantages to both parties.