These days wealthy in the society often throw away perfectly good products in order to replace them with more up-to-date models. Do the enviromental disadvantages outweigh the economic advantages ?

In today’s society, technological advancements have made it possible for products to be constantly released in new versions and consequently sought after by the affluent. Goods are purchased by the financially privileged not out of necessity but due to updates and new features, causing disposal of still efficient items. Although new gadgets can help people lead an easier life, it can be argued that this trend causes far greater environmental issues than it provides comfort or well being. Firstly, increasing consumption of technology items such as mobile devices and home appliances encourages further production by the industry. Factories and retail stores see demand as an opportunity to profit and promptly try to supply the wealthy with newly updated goods. This is only achieved by using natural resources which are irresponsibly exploited and often exhausted, leading to imbalance in our fauna and flora. For instance, as new smartphones are released every year, more mining is required in some African countries in order to extract metals to produce the new models. This disturbs local geological balance altering the ecosystem and causing extreme weather events. Furthermore, as new models are acquired, the previously owned are discarded even though they are still in good conditions, becoming unnecessary waste which also deteriorates the environment. On the other hand, the reason behind the constant seeking of modern products is that they are regarded as a practical tool for an easier life. Newly released smartphones, for example, provide functions which allow people to do everyday tasks with little to no effort. Setting alarms, finding good local restaurants, communicating with long distance loved ones are all accomplished very quickly if one owns the latest model of the device. It is the handy update the wealthy are after, solely for the matter of making their routine easier. Even though new ways of doing mundane tasks should always be sought after, it should not be at the expense of natural resources. In sum, the environmental issues caused by constant purchase and disposal of goods are far more concerning and a great price for any luxury or comfort sought by the financially privileged portion of society. More conscious and restrained shopping is needed for a sustainable future.