The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Driving is always a convenient way for people to go out. Since the appearance of the first car on British roads in 1888, vehicles are used more frequently. Currently, it is not surprising to see plenty of cars, buses, etc running on the roads. In view of this situation, it is suggested that more types of transport should be promoted and laws should be made. Personally, I agree that there is a need to do something in order to alleviate the problem of such a large amount of vehicles on the roads. First and foremost, driving vehicles aggravates global warming, therefore transports that are more environmentally friendly should be encouraged to replace the huge usage of cars. It is known that driving cars is always a main reason for global warming. Greenhouse gasses are produced during the process of driving and causing air pollution. If more and more cars keep appearing on the roads, it will apparently worsen the scenario. Hence, a different way of transportation should be promoted instead of relying on driving vehicles. For example, rail transport can be encouraged. It can carry a lot of passengers at once while cars can only carry 5 people. In the long run, it is obvious that by taking rail transport, the air pollutants produced are much less than taking cars. Moreover, too many vehicles on roads may cause traffic jams, so international laws should be launched to control such situations. In Hong Kong, people maintain a busy life. Especially in the morning of the working days, traffic jams happen commonly and subways as well as highways are always full of vehicles. To relieve such conditions, governors should make international laws collaboratively whereby the ownership and usage of cars must be registered. By putting the ownership and use of cars under control, the number of vehicles on roads will become more stable but not increase dramatically. To sum up, owing to the above reasons, although it is undeniable that cars do bring us an advantage as it can bring us from one place to another easily, too many cars may make the shortcomings outweigh the benefits. Thus, alternative forms of transport and laws for controlling should be promoted.