It was common in the past for people to retire at 60. Now more and more people are choosing to continue working past the official retirement age, with some countries even increasing the official age of retirement. Do you agree or disagree with this change? Why?

These days, the number of citizens who choose to keep working even after their retirement age has been increasing. Along with this trend, some nations raise the official retirement age. I strongly support this governmental decision for several reasons. The primary reason why I believe that the policy of raising the official retirement age brings benefits rather than drawbacks is that a majority of employees will lose social connections after their retirement. Taking Japan as an example, as workers have spent the majority of their life working, they have fewer connections outside of their company. Therefore, not a few retired people feel lonliness after quitting their workplace where they have friends and colleagues. Hence, for their mental health, remaining them at their workplace longer will mitigate their worries after the retirement. Another justification for my view is that although physically active old individuals increase, many nations are facing labor shorages due to a decrease in young generations. If the official retirement age rises, companies will maintain their precious workforce longer. As a result, they are less likely to lose their enocomic impetus. On top of this, governments will be albe to procrastinate to pay pensions to retired people, resulting in the suppression of their expenditure. A good illustration is that the Japanese authorities have raised it step by step, and it led to the positive consequences in reducing their budgets for pensions and allocating more money to others. In conclusion, although it is still controversy to raise the official age of retirement, I vehemently agree with this idea. From the viewpooints viewpoint of individual phycological health and national economic situations, it is time to set the retirement age to 65 years old or over 70.