It was common in the past for people to retire at 60. Now more and more people are choosing to continue working past the official retirement age, with some countries even increasing the official age of retirement. Do you agree or disagree with this change? Why?

It has become frequent among individuals to continue working for longer years in many parts of the world without the restriction of retirement age. While some people support this development, I tend to disagree with this because of increasing youth unemployment ratio and the inefficient output by elderly people aging beyond 60. To commence with, the main reason why I do not support the aged people to keep working after a certain age because in many countries joblessness is a growing concern. As there are many graduates who are struggling to find a position because of lack of vacancies in every sector. In other words, it is the aged persons who create vacancies for new comers when they get retired timely. Take an example of Japan, which has the highest percentage of older population, faced a huge unemployment in 2010 mainly due to senior individuals who kept working for longer period. Thus, it seems evident to have a fix age of giving up work to create adequate places for beginners each year. Moreover, another reason I believe would be the less productivity of senior citizens. This means that when people cross three scores, they become less energetic and get fatigued earlier. This is certainly because by that age body organs function slowly and congitive abilities are restrained. For instance, senior folks are less likely to think in an innovative way and sometimes they are reluctant to cope with contemporay advancements. Clearly, youngsters should be hired in order to ensure rapid growth and ingenuity at workplace. In a nutshell, rising joblessness of adults and reduced work efficiency of senior citizens are the leading factors which advocate the fact that we should not encourage to extend the retirement age.