Nowadays, many people find it difficult to balance their work and personal lives. What are the reasons for this? What can employers do to help employees achieve a better work-life balance?

Recently, many people argue that they find it difficult to find a balance between their career and personal matters. This mainly because the cutting-edged technology removes the barrier between working and personal time and vice versa. Employers need to have regulation about working time limit to prevent the employees being exploitated. Generally, the technology has made working easier and even can be carried at home. Therefore, this has made the working time more flexible than it was in the past when people should come to the workplace by 9 am. To some extent, technology makes working time easy to detect as they can store the time and place people spent for work. However, this practice will make the time between working and personal lives become blurry. For instance, people can cater personal matters during working hours, in reverse the employers can also interfere them during their leisure time. In the foreseeable future, if this matter is not handled wisely by the employers, the objective of work-life balance is not going to be achieved and in return it might exacerbate the relation of both parties. Therefore, an assert regulation for working time is needed to make a clear line between professional and personal space. Furthermore, the regulation should reach consensus from both parties rather than an imperative from employers. When the consensus is agreed, incentives-disincentives should be enforced as consequences from the agreement. For example, enforcing additional pay as an incentive for an employee who work overtime. To conclude, it is feasible to reach a balance between professional and personal lives by enforcing working time regulation. A legally-binding agreement is needed for both parties to prevent any breachment.