Nowadays, there are a large number of coffee shops and fast-food vendors on high streets and in town centres. Why are there so many of these outlets ? what effect is this having on the society?

Over the recent years, the eateries have seen a shift in paradigm with more number of cafes and junk food stalls popping up along the streets and in central parts of the towns. The primary reason for this is the westernization and urbanization of society and the effects are the increased consumerism and illnesses in the society. The western shows and culture have always had an impact on every young generation leading to certain trends. These days the trend is to hang-out with your peers in a cool and aesthetic environment and the businesses have caught on to this. With urbanization, this has drooled over to the towns as well. Similarly, junk-food has always been a cheap, cool and lucrative preference for the consumers, thanks to the adverts. Additionally, the children are exposed to technology and social media websites like YouTube and Netflix, more than ever. This has led to the glorification of cafeterias and fast-food items. For example, in developed cities like Mumbai, children are seen hanging out more often at the popular food chain outlets like McDonalds and posting their updates on social media. This influences other kids of similar ages residing in tier-2 cities or towns, explaining the reason behind the rising popularity of such shops. As a result of this increased consumerism, the economy has definitely seen a boost. However, this has led to more and more people getting obese, especially in the developed areas. High street vendors and cafeterias serve unhealthy food like burgers, pasta, pizza,etc., which are highly addictive and can lead to diseases like diabetes causing higher risk of heart attack. In fact, the USA being the most westernized country, recorded the highest number of obese children teenagers in 2020 and this is a major threat to their society. In conclusion, the westernization and urbanization of countries has encouraged the junk-food and cafeteria outlets to expand in towns. However, this is having an impact on the habits and health of the citizens.