Fossil fuels are the main source of energy around the world. However, people are being encouraged to use alternative energy sources such as wind energy, solar energy and so on. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Why?

Fossil fuels are the primary energy source around the globe. Yet, people are being asked to shift towards the utilization of alternative energy sources, such as wind and solar energy. The use of alternative energy sources has a positive effect because fossil fuels may be dearth in the upcoming years. However, there is still a problem regarding the price-to-efficiency ratio of alternative power source usage. I personally agree with the latter statement due to the economic disadvantage renewable energy power sources have. Fossil fuels are made from non-renewable resources, such as coal, which may not be as abundant as it is now in the future. It takes thousands of years to produce the raw materials by natural process. We can see clearly now in Indonesia that fossil fuel prices have been rising significantly over the last decade, indicating a limited amount of supply available. If fossil fuel consumption does not decrease, humans may not have enough stock of resources for the centuries ahead. On the contrary, the output efficiency that alternative power generators provide is not high compared to its expensive cost. The use of renewable energy sources may be very expensive to install, run, and maintain. For instance, solar cell panels can only absorb less than a quarter of the energy provided by the sunlight. The fact that the equipment is very expensive to install, adds a reason why solar cell power plants are unfavorable compared to coal-based power plants. To conclude, humans may need an alternative energy source because non-renewable resources are limited in supply. However, the cost to operate a renewable power plant is still very expensive, considering the low output efficiency.