More government money should be invested in teaching science rather than other subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The common belief holds that more public funds should be allocated to science education for countries’ progress. Despite some opposition, I am convinced that this argument is quite compelling, considering that those with sufficient knowledge about science can not only super the economy but also potentially save countless human lives. Some critics argue that more taxpayers’ money should not be spent on science education, fearing that students may be deprived of opportunities to learn other crucial subjects. One of the major concerns is that people might lose their ability to appreciate art if art were not sufficiently taught at school. Some even go so far as to say that humanity may risk losing art that has taken thousands of years to form. It is also pointed out that teaching history is just as important as science. Learning about how humans have evolved and coped with various challenges, such as wars and pandemics, can give students insights into the past, thereby helping students grow to be well-versed leaders. Despite these concerns, I firmly believe that more public money should be invested in science education for nations’ advancements. One key reason is that science can stimulate the economy. Individuals who have learned science while in school have become scientist and invented various inventions, from smartphones to spacecraft. These are just a few examples which have broadened humans’ possibilities and significantly contributed to the economy. Science can also lead to life-saving technology. There is no doubt that inventions, such as vaccinations and antibiotics, are the fruit of efforts by individuals who have learned science while in school. They have saved millions of precious lives worldwide, making modern society a safer place to live. In conclusion, although some individuals may feel that other subjects, such as art and history, are more important, it is evident that more public funds should be invested in science education. This is because science can play a vital role in stimulating the economy and save countless human lives.