Some countries have implemented mandatory community service programs for young people. In these programs, children aged 16 to 18 do charity work, help old people or work with animals. What are some advantages and disadvantages of this for young people?

In some regions, it is compulsory for youths to work on community service projects for a period of time. This essay will discuss both benefits and drawbacks and argue that there are more advantages to having this program. The exclusivity of this charity scheme program excludes certain groups from participating due to various challenges, potentially causing both mental and physical strain. Additionally, the required participation may interfere with study time, increasing pressure to excel academically while completing the mandatory project. For example, individuals with disabilities may struggle to perform the physical tasks required for the project, which could exacerbate their conditions, such as decreasing mobility and strength. On the other hand, obliging youths to participate will ensure they obtain awareness of social issues and create empathy. The collaboration of empathy and a problem-solving mindset will help society in general to overcome any challenges occurring, be it in the current or upcoming year. For example, youngsters who are aware of environmental issues such as waste management, will create a structured socialization and force people to be conscious of the 3R (reduce, reuse, recycle) movement. To summarize, the mandatory program implemented for teenagers will help them to contribute to communities while growing useful skills to live in society. At the same time, the arrangement must be inclusive so that it allows all people to join.