Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rathan than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, individuals prefer to run their own enterprises rather working for someone else. This approach has many pros and cons and this essay will try to delve into both the aspects. To begin with, on the brighter side, there are chances to get higher rewards. Indeed, undoubtedly, running own business is a difficult task and one has to play the role of a multi-tasker. It is a fifficult task to establish own work and run it, but if every thing goes well then one can expect huge profits after a few years. To illustrate, Mr Dheerubhai Ambani, was an Indian businessman, during his initial days he worked in an oil company and later he decided to run his own petro-chemical firm and after a few years of hardships and struggle, he managed to made his company named Reliance a profitable venture. Hence, one must consider running own work, instead of relying on a fixed salary. On the other hand, on the downside, failure can shatter one's confidence. In fact, it is harsh reality, because chance to become a successful businessman are always low and at initial stages failures could demotivate a person. This could be detrimental for the self confidence. For example, according to a research report, about 32 per cent of entrepreneurs, when experience setbacks in their career find themselves in Depression and Anxiety. Therefore, those who have low self-confidence may find self-employment difficult. To sum up, as a matter of fact, risk reward ration is much higher in own work, but at the same time failures could destroy self confidence and makes an individual depress.