15.10.2024 Question 30 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Since science and technology are becoming more and more important in modern society, schools should spend more time on teaching these subjects rather than on arts and humanities. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write at least 250 words

Since science and technological progress are achieved and became a integral part of the developed world, some people have a perspective that school should provide these subjects with more rooms in the syllabus, instead of creativity and mortality. While we ought to implement these advanced achievements in the curriculum, I suppose that the holistic development of students can’t be accomplished without arts and humanities subjects. To commence with, proliferations in science and technology have been great companions in the betterment of society: they have increased our living standards, such as through the internet, our communication capabilities have improved, or thanks to machinery, the pressure on manual workforce has been relieved. In addition, technology provides people from distinctive areas can access a worldwide network of valuable knowledge; thus, having increased job opportunities and success in life, which not only stimulate the development of the global economy, but also narrow the gap between the wealthy and poor countries. Therefore, incorporating science and technology into the syllabus is indispensable. Because, they will help students acquire a tremendous amount of information about the innovations of the world so they won’t be left behind. Despite the prominence of technology in curriculum, the advantages of arts and humanities field of studies shouldn’t be ignored. Because these fields can offer students with better emotional intelligence and cultural awareness. Regarding the former, art is food for soul, which can help people get rid of monotonous tasks to dive deeper into their own world. Furthermore, through art, individuals can express their thoughts unreservedly, contributing to the development of independent thinking of students. In terms of awareness, humanities subjects promote ethical reasoning and moral understanding, helping students navigate complex societal issues. Moreover, students can have more valuable knowledge about diverse cultures, histories, and societies, also fostering empathy and global issues awareness. In conclusion, the advantages of spending more rooms for technology in study programs is explicit, but the acquaintance of arts and humanities fields is also necessary. I believe that schools should strike a balance between these two aspects for the comprehensive students development.