Some people regard video games as useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

One of the most controversial topics today relates to whether video games are pedagogically benefitial or wether they do more harm than good. In this essay, I elaborate on the reasons why I strongly beieve the disadvantages far prevail over the advantages in this regard.  On the one hand, the main negative aspect of enjoying video games is a decline in player's physical strength. For instance, after the advent of video games, the number of people wearing glasses has increased dramatically. As they have fewer opportunities to do exercise but to stay in front of a TV set than the past, their corporal strength is also degenerating. As a result, they are more susceptible to colds and commonplace diseases. Additionally, another demerit of playing video games is that individuals lose opportunities to communicate with others in person. Some always glance at their smartphones to play games anywhere while others spend an excessive amount of time for video games at home. This leads to a lack of face-to-face communications, and consequently, their interpersonal skills are negatively affected. However, video games are of benefit to some points. Taking surgical skills as an example, previous studies revealed that those who have spent their time enjoying video games are more proficient in performing surgery than those who do not. This is because some games demand fine motor skills, multidimensional congnitive abilities, and swift movements to achieve good scores. In conclusion, I definitely think that despite its educational effects such as improving hand movements and cognitive capacities, the benefits of video games outweigh the drawbacks in terms of deteriorating player's physical strength and imparing imparting their communication skills.