The claim that animals have “rights” has been the subject of much debate since the 1970s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned? Do you agree or disagree?

Since the 1970s, there has been a debate whether animals as a creature, have their own rights. I believe that animals belong to their designated habitat, therefore I strongly agree that zoos should stop operating in every countries. Zoos keep animals inside of cages and often are build with a very limited space for animals to move around, which are the opposite of nature, such as forest or desert, where animals are supposed to live. Moreover, animals of a kind are often placed in one cage making it too packed for them. In a long term, this situation leads to stress and animals might start attacking each other or even human beings. There are multiple cases around the world where zoo workers died after being attacked by animals that have been caged for years. As a result, zoos are not a suitable for wild animals because they offer unsuitable habitat for animals and this can harm both the animals and humans. On top of that, many zoos are incapable of managing their animals properly. Building small cages, bringing animals who are not supposed to live in certain climate, dismissing regular check-ups, and starving them are the most common problems in multiple zoos. The prime example of animal mistreatment is Medan Zoo which is managed by the local government where multiple Sumatran tigers, which are endangered species, died due to hunger in a span of one year. Therefore, zoos which pay little attention to animals should stop operating because they fail to protect particular species and it can lead to extinction. In conclusion, I agree that animals deserve to have a decent life in nature because zoos bring numerous disadvantages to the creatures which supposed to live in their habitat.