You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Since science and technology are becoming more and more important in modern society, schools should spend more time on teaching these subjects rather than on arts and humanities. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write at least 250 words

Some individuals are of the opinion that spending more time on teaching science and technology subjects rather than on arts and humanities is better for both teachers and students in the context of these subjects playing a crucial role in this modern world. Personally, I partly disagree with this school of thought based on some reasons that are elucidated further in this essay. On the one hand, students should be taught more in the subjects involved in science and technology at school to meet the social requirements in this new era. The more mysterious science and new high technology are explored, the more knowledge that learners have to acquire. Consequently, spending more time on teaching and learning these fields may provide for people a large amount of knowledge about science, which is the key factor contributing to the development in people’s lives and even fostering the economy of a country. If schools pay less attention to teaching these new knowledge for learners, they may lose the opportunities to develop themselves optimally. Moreover, when studying about technology, learners can improve their basic skills using high-tech devices or artificial intelligence to catch up with new trends of the world, which even help them earn a large amount of money in the future. On the other hand, there are some reasons that explain why schools should strive for a balance between the topics of technologies and humanities instead of only focusing more on science -related subjects. Although spending more time on studying about science and technology may bring about a wide range of benefits for learners, arts and humanities still hold a profound meaning on education systems, which can foster students ’ creativity and flexibility directly. As students who often tend to form their personalities and their world views through education that they are taken in at the school. Subjects related to arts and humanities, fortunately, may nurture their soul and their mental health. These subjects even help students improve critical thinking skill that are very important in this day and age. For example, engaging in artistic activities like painting, drawing, or playing musical instruments has been shown to enhance creativity, problem-solving skill and cognitive flexibility. In conclusion, although science and technology play an important role in our lives these days, I believe that learners should not be just taught about these subjects due to the necessity of other subjects such as humanities and arts.