Question 30 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Since science and technology are becoming more and more important in modern society, schools should spend more time on teaching these subjects rather than on arts and humanities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, where science and technology play increasingly significant roles, there is a growing emphasis on the need for schools to allocate more time and resources towards teaching these subjects. Though this has caused a debate between those who advocate for this viewpoint argue that science and technology have direct practical applications and job prospects, and are essential for navigating the modern world. Conversely, proponents of arts and humanities education assert the importance of these subjects for fostering critical thinking and creativity, arguing that they contribute to a well-rounded education. On one hand, people supporting this opinion said that science and technology play an indispensable role in the advancement of society. Firstly, with the proliferation of technology we now have machines with various functions. It can now replace some tasks that humans do by relieving people from manual labor, reducing the risk of being injured or stressed from overworking. This also promotes global economic development at a startling rate, as many individuals have more leisure time and work less so lending to working efficiency rises. Like the domino effect, if the global economy improves it means that financial problems will diminish and by that the apparent gap between the wealthy and poor countries will be narrowed. On the other hand, arts and humanities, it is argued that students have the chance to gain a better vision of the past and realize how the world has changed. Art is considered as food for the soul as well as a way to get rid of monotonous tasks for those who are keen on aesthetic aspects. Talking about art, it is a better tool to express thoughts and feelings and some individuals who observe works done by others, they may feel quite related like they have found themselves in those pieces of art which connect people together. In conclusion, both terms are crucial for education so striking a balance between them will help students to improve and develop more comprehensively