The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last decade. What are the causes of this disturbing trend and how can the problem be reduced?

It is certainly true that the percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last decade. This fact represents a serious health problem for our new generations. I would say that processed food and the lack of physical activity are two important causes. Reducing this disturbing trend would require measures taken by authority in the food industry and the involvement of the families on in improving their children ’s physical activities. There are several factors that have led to the growing proportion of obese children. One major cause is the consumption of processed foods as a main meal, which have more calories and are poor in nutrients. Unfortunately, society promotes fast-foods and sugar, which are easily accessible for children. There are many fast food restaurants which promote special meals for children or a healthy variety of junk food, but this doesn’t does not mean that they are not processed. Another important cause is sedentary behavior. The use of technology leads to isolation rather than playing and doing other physical activities. Many youngsters spend a lot of hours in front of TV or computer and this leads to depression and eating disorders too. Others are involved in learning activities after school so have no time for playing or doing sport. In modern society adults have less time and energy to organize family activities. However, several measures can be taken in order to reduce this problem. First of all, the government should implement nutrition policies in school and introduce healthy snacks. An important task is working more in food security and minimizing the level of sugar in foods. All these by introducing new restrictions and taking measures. Including discussion about healthy eating in classes, helps them to improve their choices and their lifestyle. Another way to reduce obesity in children are the actions taken by the family members. They have to replace screen time with family time, organizing after-school activities and moving more as a family. Doing something they enjoy will make them get involved and repeat it. Also, many families choose to ask their children to help them at home such as gardening, walking the dog, washing the car or cleaning the house. In this way they keep them more active. To conclude, the percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20%, which leads to a disturbing trend. The main causes are processed food and lack of activity, which require the intervention of the authorities and the implication of the family for resolving this important problem.