The percentage of overweight children in western countries has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the possible causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.

In western countries, the percentage of obese children has increased around 20% in the last decade. The causes of obesity among children are that sedentary lifestyle, and consumption of fast food. The effects of obesity are that development of diseases, and minimized physical activities. Sedentary lifestyle is the primary cause of obesity among children. Children do not want to involve in physical movements. Children prefer to sit in their homes all day, and watch electronic devices. The second reason for being overweight is consumption of fast food. Children are not interested in having homemade foods, which are nutritious. They are addicted to fast foods with excessive oils and spices, which causes obesity problems among them. For example, around 56% of teenagers in Australia, mainly depend on hamburgers and french fries for their school lunch. One of the biggest effects of obesity is children suffer from several diseases. Obesity causes hypertension, diabetes, heart problem at an early stages of their lives. Furthermore, obesity minumizes their physical activities. They cannot move their bodies properly and cannot be able to perform physical labour or any hard work, which impacts their daily lives. For instance, children in the USA, nowadays, do not take part in sports competitions because their overweight do not allow them. In conclusion, fast-food consumption and sedentary lifestyle increase obesity problem among children. Being overweight hinders the daily movements of children, and their physical health.