The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Humans have been exploring science for a long time. There has been an ongoing debate about whether the most important aim of science is to improve human welfare. I do agree that improving people's lives is one of the aim of science. However, at the same time, ensuring harmonious coexistence between people and other living beings is also a crucial goal of science. On the one hand, it is because people continually seek to improve their lives that they constantly research science, leading to advancements in better healthcare, transportation, and living conditions. The more scientific outcome can improve human well-being, the more motivated people are to explore it. For example, people have invented airplanes and cars through science discoveries, significantly reducing travel time and making people's lives more efficient. Later, to reduce the air pollution caused by vehicles burning fossil fuels, people used nuclear powere to produce cleaner electricity to power vehicles. Therefore, science holds practical value because it can improve people's lives, making scientific research further. On the other hand, it is essencial for people to foster a peaceful relationship with other living beings, which is also one of the purpose of science. For instance, humans produce plastic production by using chemistry. After benefitting from the convenience of these plastic, humans recycle and repurpose a large quantities of plastic production, preventing the pollution of ocean and harming the marine creatures. After all, it is well known that humans and other living beings share the same planet. Hence, the aim of science extends beyond to improve people's lives into promote harmonious coexistence with other forms of life. In conclusion, the aims of science not only to improve people's lives but also to foster harmonious coexistence between people and other living beings.