In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

Many people believe that digital pay methods, such as cards or phones, will displace cash. This essay answers why I think that it is the most possible scenario and why some people might not be happy about it. First of all, I think that the process of money digitalization has already started. The presence of shops which accept credit cards has been rapidly growing all over the world in recent years. In addition to that, smartphones have received the functionality to act as credit cards using NFC technology and the number of terminals which recognize this method of payment has drastically increased. For instance, a lot of studies in Russia show that the rate of digital payments grew from 15% in 2015 to 85% in 2024. Which says not only about the development of technologies but also that it was acknowledged by the citizens. Furthermore, governments are strongly engaged in this process, because it provides better control of the financial flows. Moreover, tax services, which are responsible for collecting taxes from people and tracking those who evade it, get a powerful tool to perform their duty. Such involvement from the government provides significant support to the companies which spread and improve digital payments. However, such interest from the official services might make some people not happy about this trend. Statistics from the different countries report that people related to illegal actions receive their payments using cash only because it helps them to hide their activity and income. For example, it is hard to believe that those who sell weapons or drugs accept credit cards. Furthermore, many people try to lower their income or to completely hide it for the purpose of taxes evading. The landlords, which are not officially registered as those who provide accommodation, are a good illustration of that. It was proven that about 50% of people who rent apartments out, use different schemes to evade taxes by not accepting credit cards. In conclusion, I think that in the next 10 years, cash payments will be used rarely and will be completely replaced with credit cards and phones. However, certain groups of people will try to use cash as long as possible, because it helps them to do illegal actions.