Presently, most products and drinks contain artificial sugar which can cause health problems. Some believe governments should make all these products more expensive to solve the problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays sugar is a constituent of most factory-made foods and beverages. This can lead to many health issues. Some people argue that authorities must make these products less accessible by increasing their prices. I strongly agree with this idea on one condition that governments are able to replace them with healthier alternatives. On the one hand, too much consumption of sugar can cause both mental and physical damage. Research has proved kids who frequently snack on junk food containing artificial sugar, do not perform well at school because of the deteriorating effect it has on their brain and cognitive ability. From another aspect, consumers of these products get overweight or suffer from diseases like diabetes gradually and need to go on rigid diets. So setting higher prices is a good policy as was done in the Czech Republic about increasing the price of meat to decrease the amount of its consumption in people's daily diet. On the other hand, when manufacturing a product is restricted by any means, it has to be replaced by a better choice, so the decision makers of a country have to think twice before raising the prices. In the Czech Republic, a wide variety of vegetables were put into market at reasonable prices to boost the people’s general health. In conclusion, I believe it’s a good decision to make sugary products less popular by making them pricier, but a replacement has to be considered before taking the action.