In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadys, many countries have provided a chance for people to buy international food from supermarkets. I am of the opinion that this phenomenon comes with its fair share of benefits and disadvantages, which have same gravities. On the one hand, being able to buy the food that has been produced in other countries is desirable for both individuals and the exporter countries. Firstly, these packaged foods help individuals feed their insatiable appetite for exotic cuisine without paying substantial money for gastronomy tours. For instance, nowadays, one can order a pizza, and it would be delivered to their doorstep within 20 minutes, whereas a few decades ago, individuals had to travel to Italy in order to taste this today's staple food. Secondly, industries can package local foods and send them to other countries. This can supplement the country's revenue generation. However, this phenomenon can also bring about several problems for both individuals ' health and local businesses. One of the reasons that nutritionists are against these foods is that they are usually less nourishing. However, the high sugar and fat additives give the food a desirable taste, and motivates people toward a diet that can bring about knock-on consequences, such as obesity. Moreover, the convenience and captivating packing of these products dissuade people from their local culinary delight. Therefore, this phenomenon not only deprives an individual's body from consuming nutrient-rich food but also hinders local restaurants' profit margins by reducing the sheer number of their customers. In conclusion, While eating international food can be desirable and help the exporter country's industry, it can inadvertently hinder people's chance to eat wholesome food, and harm local businesses.