Some people think that the main purposes of school is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some people that education will be beneficial for the children's personal future, such as being good citizens or workers, apart from benefiting themselves as individuals. From my perspective, I totally agree that education is the stepping stone for individuals to smarten themselves which in turn will make them good citizens and labourers. The main focus of schooling is to mould children both into responsible members of society and their individual growth. This is due to the fact that the pupils in the classroom will not only learn about the school materials such as chemistry or physics but they will also be taught how to behave in society. For example, someone who goes to school will act nicely to the elderly or to their counterparts because they had been taught such behaviour in school. Thus, it seems clear that school is aimed at producing good behaviour individuals which well-prepared to contribute to society. Furthermore, schools emphasize discipline and time management, essential qualities for both civic life and employment, demonstrating their focus on societal contributions. These skills are gained from day-to-day activities in the classroom through tasks and homework that are given by the teachers. Consequently, the students will get used to performing under time pressure and working in a team which certainly will shape the student's endeavours towards future workforce and societal life. For instance, an individual who is used to working in a team and under strict deadlines will perform better in the workforce as well as prove to have better relationships in society compared to those who do not do so. Therefore, education gives proper opportunities to participate in an excellent work and life environment for those who are enrolled. To conclude, School provides knowledge that is needed to shape a better community along with producing professional workers. This is proved by the lessons that are taught in the classroom and the pressure and skills that shape the children to be well-developed and ready to contribute to society.