Some people believe that cultural traditions can be destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions; others, however, think that this is the only way to save these traditions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Tourists are usually attracted by the cultural diversity when they plan their trips. In addition, traveling one of the main factors that boost the local economy. While some people believe tourists resorts bring economic benefits as well as instill a sense of proud, others worry that these cultural reserves might be in danger of deterioration. This essay aims to elaborate both sides and give my opinions. Many documented cases warrant people’ concerns when tourists attractions are open to travelers. Taking the Great Wall as an example, some parts are full of graffitis after being visited by tourists, who made irreversible changes to the historical sites. Such case corroborates the possibility of vandalism made to the preserved places. Moreover, the culture and charms embedded in these historical places and artifacts might be lost after being renovated to attract customers. For instance, the original buildings might be painted and refurnished for tourists ’ experiences, results in the loss of their original appearance which carries unique history and cultures. Considering these factors, these cultural heritages should be kept away from potential tourism damages. However, tourism is said to enhance the local traditions. Firstly, the local governments, instead of changing the looking of the places, they are more likely to maintain and repair the places because of tourism. As a result, these tourist attractions used to be ignored get the maintenance that extend their life. Another reason is that the local people will have a sense of proud and belongings because of these tourist attractions. Cities usually have their landmarks that represent its spirits and history. For instance, the Sydney opera house is one of the most well-known landmarks in Sydney, and forbidden city is the signature place in China. These tourist attractions represent the local's hometown and their spirits. Just like whenever people think of Sydney opera house, the first impression comes to mind is that Sydney is a modern city but has abundance of cultural heritage embodied by arts and natural beauty. In my opinion, even though worries about the possible damages are valid, tourism is not the culprit to blame. The local authorities can take measures to prevent potential damage by providing education for tourists and calling for extra care and protection from the local residents. Tourism is a good opportunity for delivering the local charms to the world, and also one of the main contributors to the local economy. In conclusion, possible damages from tourists' visits can be prevented if appropriate measures are taken, I am in favor of boosting the local tourism because of the several benefits aforementioned.