You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

The search for new sources of oil is responsible for an immense expenditure each year. In my opinion, it is of paramount importance that money should be invested on the development of other power generating mechanisms since there are two major drawbacks of this resource extraction. Firstly, it is important to consider that oil is a finite resource. In another words, this means that eventually the world will run out of oil and the multiple machines that depend on that will become obsolete. Since this date is difficult to estimate, it is sensible that ways to contour this lack should be developed quickly. If possible, renewable sources such as wind powered or solar energy should be preferred so that this cycle does not repeat itself. Secondly, the extraction of oil is probably going to get harder and more expensive with time. Once oil has to be extracted from the internal layers of the Earth, it is presumable that the outer layers will be the first ones to be exploited and that with time there will only be oil left in the deeper layers of the planet. Reaching these layers require a much more technologic and robust machinery and, therefore, also much more expensive. This spent could be avoided by the development of other cheaper power sources sooner. In conclusion, I strongly belive that investing on new methods of energy generation is better than investing in the oil industry. Solar and wind generated power are the best options for the future and should be developed and spread as soon as possible.