Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a dispute about the significance of the History and Science and Technology subjects in school. While proponents of the History subject contend that it can positively affect learners’ brains, others who advocate the Science and Technology discipline believe it is more beneficial because of its contributions to modern society. In my opinion, I concur with the latter perspective. Regarding the first view, studying History can help learners acquire knowledge about the origin of a country. It means they can learn about a specific country's culture, society, and local people's behaviours. Consequently, their critical thinking skills and understanding of the world can be improved. Moreover, absorbing historical events and figures can also enhance their memory ability, increasing their productivity at work. For example, according to research, Asian students, specifically Vietnamese, who frequently read historical documents can memorize more effectively in life and utilize their mother tongue more profoundly. However, I entirely believe that learning technology and science is more important to students in school. Firstly, this subject can raise students ’ curiosity. This is because the subject requires constantly spending an enormous amount of time researching and reading numerous documents in English to conduct experiments. Through this practice, students can develop discipline, which is essential for a successful life. Secondly, the subject of technology and science is more practical because it can be applied in many respects in modern society, including education, healthcare, and agriculture industries, leading to a comfortable life. For instance, students nowadays can save a lot of time when using chatGPT, a product of edge-cutting technology and science, to brainstorm ideas for essays. In conclusion, although I understand why the History subject is vital to students ’ brains, I contend that the subject of technology and science is more advantageous in school. In my opinion, it would be a fantastic experience to combine these areas in teaching. This new approach will make learning history more enjoyable and increase the number of history lovers in society.