The food travels thousand of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate locally produced food. What extent does the advantage outweigh its disadvantage?

In recent years, the transportation of food across countries has become increasingly common. It is certainly true that our economy and environment would be better if native people would consume local food. Although, there are downsides, this essay argues that the advantages are stronger as this positively benefits the financial situation of a country. There are many drawbacks leading to this trend. One of them is the carbon footprint of the transportation. Moreover, this is because trucks, ships and aeroplanes used for shipping produce emit carbon dioxide, which contributes to global warming. In the UK, the average food item travels 1,500 miles before it reaches the consumer. Replacing imported food with locally produced, would reduce CO2 emissions because no transportation would be necessary. However, in spite of these negative effects, I am of the opinion that these disadvantages can be outweighed by the positives. One obvious advantage is that exporting goods increases the country’s entire revenue. This can be attributed to the fact that selling more goods to various international markets significantly increases revenue, providing more jobs and boosting economic growth. For instance, in 2001, Brazil experienced a 50% soar in total earnings when they started exporting homegrown peaches to foreign markets. This demonstrates how food exporting can strenghten a nation’s financial standing. In conclusion, despite the downsides, I believe that the benefits of an increasing economy are greater because it leads to a greener future and new job opportunities are given to many people.