International communities should act immediately to ensure that all countries reduce their consumption of fossil fuels, e.g. gas and oil. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Mankind is relying mainly on fossil fuels, in order to, meet their energy needs for domestic and commercial purposes from the ancient times. However, a few people advocates that international bodies must insist countries to look for other options for their energy needs. But, I do not agree with this notion to a much extent and reasons to support my stance are elaborated in the following paragraphs. To begin with, those who are in favour of this trend assert that it could help to reduce the effects of global warming. In fact, the atmospheric temperature of the earth has been on a rise, because of the increased air pollution due to burning of fossil fuels such as coal and oil. For example, according to a study, about 18 percent of the air pollution is caused by burning of fuels from vehicles and domestic activities. Therefore, it is a wise to reduce the consumption of fossil fuels. On the other hand, those who are against this notion opine that practically it is not possible, because of lack of awareness among the people of different nations. Indeed, common people know very little about new energy sources such as Solar energy, Wind energy, Hydro-electric Energy. Moreover, they possess less knowledge about the installation and working of these sources. Hence, a few countries would not stop using oil and gas as fuels. Adding more to it, carbon free energy generation technologies are expensive to purchase. As a matter of fact, these new substitutes of energy generation are developed and operated by the developed countries mainly, but under-developed nations cannot afford this technology. To illustrate, in India, goverment has asked people to install the Solar panels on their rooftops to generate their own electricity, but people are unable to buy them, because the Solar panels are expensive. Therefore, it is a troublesome task to shift people from using fossil fuels. To sum up, undoubtedly, pressing environmental issues like global warming could be tackled to some extent with this change, but individual acceptance and cost factor are the main obstacles in the way of this change.