Nowadays many jobs are more stressful and the working day is longer. What are the reasons for this? What can employers do to help employees?

Working has become physically and mentally overwhelming, and workload have become too much for employees. Unfortunately, more and more of expectations from the workers are demanded by their employers these days. In this essay, I will outline the reasons about what have become of the current working environment and suggest ways on how to mitigate the issues about this problem that employers are facing. There are many reasons for this increased stress at work. Probably, one factor that causes too much stress on employees are the increased demands from the customers and also, living up to the expectations of stakeholders of the company to meet their goals. For instance, McDonalds, forces their employees to work longer hours to serve their customers, some workers are forced to do this because of the expensive cost of living and the fact that they open for 24 hours, means longer working hours for them. Additionally, another issue that has long been become a major stress contributing factor to the staffs, is the employment of inexperience workers and letting go of the more experienced ones. Probably, the main reason for this, is cutting down the expenses of the company on the salary for their workers, although, this has been a notorious policy for some companies until now, it still hasn’t changed despite how media and policymakers have been talking about this for quite some time. However, there are ways on how to reduce the burden which causes stress on working environment. One way to mitigate this, is for employers to willingly listen to their workers with an open mind to issues that staffs may be having. In the company that I am currently affiliated, there’s regular meeting held every Fridays dedicated to issues about working conditions and personal problems that may affect the productivity of the staffs, and any problems not solve at that moment, it will be followed up speedily, with care. Another solution for this, is implementing the four-day work week. For instance, United States of America has already adapted to this schedule, thus, study shows that additional rest days for working schedule has improved productivity levels of some people, than the traditional two days off in work week. In conclusion, many employees experience difficulty in their working conditions and unsociable hours. To be able to relieve this stress, employers should make sure to consult their employees and support them when any demands is expected from them.