A report indicated that many children between 7 and 11 years old watch television and/or play video games too much. How does the problem affect? What measures can be taken to control it?

A report depicted that a lot of children around 7 until 11 years old are addicted to watch television or play video games. It will lead to bad eyesight and a serious problem in the future. Meanwhile, the role of the parents is really important here to control the using of handphone and TV. I highly suggest for the parents to set a screentime schedule. Firstly, children will feel uncomfortable by playing or watching video games for a long time and then their eyesight will not as good as before. There is a powerful radiation on the screen, this is a reason why their eyes get sick because the light is too strong entering the eyes. As a result, children can not see objects clearly. For example, my nephew is about 10 years old, but he has been used glasses since 8 years old because his parents always give handphone at home. Meanwhile, the parents has rights to manage time when the children can have screentime. Obviously, the parents and children should communicate each other to do this. After that, they can reach a final decision to set the screentime schedule. For instance, I am allowing my children to play video games on weekends only for 2 hours a day. Certainly, the result is really good because they do not have bad eyesight and tend to play with their friends. To sum up, television and handphone have a negative impact for children eyes. However, the parents can control by managing screentime. This is a proper way to prevent bad eyesight and children can spend most of their time with family and friends.