Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

It is known that more than one species of animals is on its way to extinction, moreover, it seems that others may soon face the same problem. In my opinion, causes that are leading to the extinction of many species of animals can be found in humans practices. However, governmets can manage the problem by increasing taxes on these activities. Humans activities are alterating alternating the world's equilibrium. In the last century, in order to secure enough food for a growing population, humans started to intensify many practices, like fishing, agriculture and hunting. It is proved that these kinds of activities caused a dramatically reduction in the number of some species. To give an example, in the late 1990s the number of cods in the East coast of North America saw a rapid and dramatic reduction due to the high number of tons catched every year. It is estimated that almost a 15-year period of strictly prohibited fishing is necessary to return at the same conditions of pre 1990. On the other hand, there are measures that can be taken in order to address this problem. I believe that governments should cooperate and create new taxes or directly forbid those activties that put some species in real danger, even if this could cause a reduction in the number of working people. Regarding the North America cods codes problem, the Canadian government was blamed for not try to stop the problem as soon as possible because they were worried of the possibility of an increase in unemployment. But this has only contributed to increasing the problem. In conclusion, I think that the danger of species extinction should be of primary concern for governments and they should take measures immediately.