The money spent by governments on space programmes would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that governments should spend more money on schools and hospitals rather than on space programmes. I completely agree with this view because having an excellent public service infrastructure can provide a better environment for humans to thrive. The most compelling reason that I hold this opinion is that good healthcare and education are the pillars of a successful nation. If a country has a top-tier healthcare system, they can take good care of their citizens as well as foreign patients who want to enjoy their services. Schools can provide necessary education for everyone in the country and increase literacy rate which in turn helps a nation grow. Another reason for my view is that a country can produce a more educated and healthier working force. If the people are more educated, they can criticize and analyze the crucial information more carefully and accurately and can act upon it. Moreover, with the people having access to a better healthcare system, it can boost the morale and efficiency of the working force by not having to worry financially whenever they get sick. Lastly, in the age of technology, strong basic infrastructures are necessary for every country. The effects of modernization have serious implications on human beings and in order to overcome that, countries need more literate people and professionals would help them tackle these problems. Pouring resources on the basic necessities of a society will yield favorable results in the long run rather than trying to solve a problem of tomorrow on today. In conclusion, I totally agree that governments should spend their money on basic public services like schools and hospitals. This is because these services are crucial to have in a stable and successful society. Given this situation it is recommended that governments should set their priorities straight by making the necessary investments on basic public services.