The Internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialise. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern age, some people believe that social media keeps people connected like those who are staying overseas, while others are against this concept as the development of these communication applications has led to social barriers among family members. I strongly agree, with this statement and will provide the justifiable reasons in the following paragraphs. Firstly, with the invention of these social media app people are able to secure jobs outside of their country which have also helped in reducing the unemployment rate. For instance, those working in the customer service helplines are able to work from any part of the world as their jobs have heavily relies on the availability of cellular networks. Therefore, the opportunities for a person to find employment lies beyond their regional area. On the other hand, our over-reliance on the internet have undoubtedly created an invessible wall among the people of the society. For example, a case study conducted in USA showed that in recent years more than 30 percent of the marriages have ended in divorce, upon further investigation it was revealed that they paid more attention to their profile on Instagram rather than interacting among each other to build up the relationship. To conclude, there is no denying that these technologies bring people from different nations together, however, their negative impact cannot be ignored as this will result in the isolation of people closer to your surroundings.