With pressure on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A school-going child’s overall progress depends equally on the academics as well as the extra curricular activities. However, some people argue that the non-academic subjects should be discarded from the syllabus to help the children better concentrate on academic subjects in order to succeed academically. I strongly oppose this perspective. These non-academic subjects are a means to relax the children ’s minds and, also help in their overall personality development. This essay will discuss these views in further detail. To embark on, extra-curricular subjects like sports, art and craft are a great means to allow the students to relax their brains after long hours of studying challenging subjects like science and mathematics. As a result of this relaxation and refreshment, these students are able to concentrate better on their studies again, leading to better efficiency of learning. Additionally, engaging in art and craft activities stimulates the right hemisphere of the brain along with the creative skills of these students. For instance, as per the reports of a scientific study, students who are allowed creative break intermingled in their learning hours have higher learning efficiency as compared to those who did not get a break. To add on, subjects like physical education are extremely crucial for the physical health and development of the pupils. Playing sports helps the children to maintain a good balance between studies and health. Therefore, without subjects like physical education, children are likely to become lethargic, over-weight and dull. This in turn affects their attention span, learning efficiency and capacity. This leads to poor academic performance. For instance, it is more often seen that children who are physically active have better attention span and succeed academically better than those students who are sedentary. To summarize, although succeeding in academics is important in recent times to have a good professional career and life, discarding non-academic subjects like sports, art and craft will only make these children dull, less efficient in studying which will lead to poor grades and performance at school. Therefore, academic and extra-curricular subjects must be given equal importance in educational setups.