As a part of their education, many students work at a company for short period of time without a salary. Are there more advantage than disadvantage to this?

In many universities, it is mandatory for final year students working in a company to gain experience. Some offices offer benefits such as salary, yet others only provide certificate. In my opinion, it is better for a business to give benefits such as honor for those students because of several reasons. Firstly, since the company also gain benefit from students who are lack in experience but savvy in new technology, it is fair to give something in return. Money is one of many options. That kind of treatment will reflect the brand's good value on how it treats its employees. Secondly, giving salary could also become part of marketing. The students will definetely tell his colleagues about the place he or she worked. Therefore, it is important to treat them well in order to gain excellent word of mouth. I had worked in a company during my last year before I graduated. I have got moderate amount of salary which I had used to travel after I finished my on the job training in a oil and gas company. Although I never work again in that business again, yet I always talk nicely about those time. Once, I met an old guy who had worked in that company and he really proud about how that company had gave me salary. In conclusion, it is better to perceive those students as our future client and treat them as good as we can so it will give our businees a good name in the long run.