The internet has a bigger impact on people’s lives because it is more popular than television. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support you position.

Some people believe that as the Internet has grown to be more popular than the television(TV), it has a greater impact of the lives of all the people. I strongly agree with this viewpoint because the Internet has given its users unlimited access to all the information and does not restrict its users to a particular place unlike the TV sets. This essay will further shed light on this topic. To commence with, before the invention of the Internet, TVs were highly popular means of gaining information. However, in the contemporary world, the Internet is omnipresent. All the smartphones have access to the Internet. This enbales people to get all sorts of information with less effort and higher efficiency. Therefore, the internet users can surf any websites to find out any information about the events happening in every nook and corner of the world at the ease of a few clicks. This is in contrast to news on the TV channels where people need to wait for the news to be broadcasted. Unlike the TV which requires the viewers to sit in a place, internet can be accessed while travelling. Moreover, the Internet acts as a medium to establish communication between people over a video-call which is not offered by the TV. For illustration, students living away from their families can talk to their loved ones daily as a result of the Internet. In contrast to the TV, the internet has additional benefits like e-commerce, online education and so on. Using the Internet, people are able to shop grocery, cothes and household appliances sitting in their homes or offices. This saves the challenges of travelling to the stores or markets which seems difficult owing to busy work schedules. Applications like the Youtube help students to gain information about their desired educational topics at any given time. It facilitates the students to understand and learn better by watching explanatory videos and demonstrations. This not only allows flexibility of time and space but also the speed of learning. For example, internet allowed children to keep learning as the schools were conducted over various video-conferencing platforms during the COVID-19 pandemic. In a nutshell, TVs restrict the public to a particular place and time, whereas internet provides immense flexibility along with many other facilitities which are not not available while watching TV leading to it becoming an indivisible part of the public’s life. Owing to all these factors, TV has dropped down in its popularity game and had led to the internet having a greater influence on the human life.