The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The US film industry has a huge audience worldwide which makes it a trend-setter for other film industries. As it has a significant influence on other industries, I believe that governments must protect and promote their cultures by investing in their own movie sector. Each country has its own cultural roots, and the film industry depicts the cultural trends of that country. As US movies are very popular around the globe, other filmmakers follow the trends of these movies. The main reason behind this is that a large amount is spent on movie production in the US as compared to other countries, which results in high-quality entertainment. So, if governments invest in their own film productions, then film-makers can focus on original content related to their own culture and values. Furthermore, movies have a significant impact on societies and cultures. People follow their favourite artists for their dressing styles and other cultural norms. For example, if a popular actor is wearing a Western dress then people try to copy that style. As a result, they get introduced to foreign cultures, giving less importance to their own culture. So, it is highly important for governments to invest in local industries to enhance the quality of content. It can lead to an increased audience for local films showing their own cultures and practices. In conclusion, US movies impact other industries because of the high budgets spent on these movies. If local industries have good government investments, they can stop looking up to the US market and focus on promoting their own cultures.