A person's success nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness, and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the contemporary world, the action of showing off has become prominent in a society. It is argued that success is judged by individual's social status and materialistic things whilst a handful of people believe kindness, trust and honor do not matter anymore. I totally disagree with this statement for many reasons and will highlight my opinion in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, it is true that the value of a person is identified by his material possessions as people want to visualize everything nowadays. To be more precise, individuals who enjoy luxury and have expensive things have higher status in a society. It is because of the status symbol they want to maintain in the world among individuals. For example, a family who has huge bungalow and expensive cars are well off according to the public. Consequently, these factors make people believe in flaunting their status in front of others. Moreover, spending an enormous amount of money on weddings, kitty parties and other events also considered to be in a higher-class society. Therefore, due to these reasons, success is determined by the social standings and fortunes they have. On the other hand, there is no doubt that moral values play a vital role in human lives. Firstly, it exhibits the character of an individual which is the most important aspect for a human. In other words, a person's personality depends on his behaviour, actions, and kindness rather than flaunting expensive things to maintain status. For instance, in a company, there is an employee who has all kinds of luxury but does not know how to behave with other employees and lower level staff as he has a lack of values. Additionally, staying humble, a kind and subtle individual is much better than a disrespectful human being. Thus, ancient values should be important to make a perspective for a person in terms of his success and social standings. To conclude, although a lavish lifestyle is preferred by everybody nowadays because of the comfort zone it provides, in my opinion, the actual personality and temperament of a human is concluded by his ethics and morality.